My location via GPS
Postcode

Three Thousand Years of Longing

Literary scholar Alithea (Tilda Swinton) researches myths in pop culture. At a conference in Istanbul, she buys an antique bottle and the jinn (Idris Elba) inside it grants her three wishes. But first, the jinn tells her about his life.

More

As the director of the best action film of all time, MAD MAX: FURY ROAD, George Miller can do whatever he wants. Miller is 77 and has made a film about storytelling, even though the world is impatiently waiting for his next action banger FURIOSA. But that will only come out in 2024. First up is this project that‘s close to his heart, THREE THOUSAND YEARS OF LONGING.

When George Miller was young, Roland Barthes “Mythologies“ and Leslie Fiedler‘s essay “Cross the Border – Close the Gap“ were popular. They were narrative theorists who emphatically advocated for “post-modernism“ which would tear down the border between high brow and low brow. The Nouvelle Vague discovered the aesthetic qualities of American gangster films and Hitchcock thrillers. Miller‘s films were implementations of these ideas, neo-mythical stories focused on the simplest narrative structures like the MAD MAX films and fairy tales like THE WITCHES OF EASTWICK.

In THREE THOUSAND YEARS OF LONGING, based on a short story by A.S. Byatt, Tilda Swinton is literary scholar Alithea (lat. “aliter Thea:“ the other Goddess) who specializes in narratology, the research of narrative techniques. In a conference in Istanbul, she presents the idea of myths that have survived due to pop culture. Alithea has a hallucination and faints while in the background, you can see Marvel and DC superheroes. The next day, she buys an antique bottle in an Istanbul bazar and shortly thereafter a jinn (Idris Elba) slips out and grants her three wishes. But Alithea is familiar with stories about wishes and is careful. First she wants to hear the story of the jinn who has been bottled up for centuries.

The jinn is a story machine, a literary spirit who Alithea first speaks to in the language of Homer. His stories about seduction, power, violence, perversion, live and knowledge are about the power of storytelling itself. Miller stages these stories in sensuous and colorful contrast to the generic hotel room where Elba and Swinton negotiate while wearing white robes.

THREE THOUSAND YEARS OF LONGING is an almost academic film, perhaps even a kind of apology from an artist who has working in “trivial“ genres for all of his life: action, comedy, melodrama. The film is a declaration of love to storytelling. Maybe the stories are too symbolically overloaded, but they have to demonstrate the most important functions of storytelling, after all. Maybe the film could stand to be more suspenseful, but it‘s all very beautiful and charming to look at, Elba and Swinton are lovable as always and the Orientalist stories are nicely old-fashioned and colorfully designed. What would a literary scholar wish from a storytelling spirit? Something close to this. Which is great. It‘s a good date movie.

Tom Dorow

Translation: Elinor Lewy

Credits

Original title: Three Thousand Years of Longing
USA/Australien 2022, 108 min
Language: English, Greek, Turkish
Genre: Drama, Fantasy
Director: George Miller
Author: George Miller
DOP: John Seale
Montage: Margaret Sixel
Music: Junkie XL
Distributor: Leonine
Cast: Tilda Swinton, Idris Elba, Alyla Browne, David Collins, Kaan Guldur
Release: 01.09.2022

Interview
Website
IMDB

Screenings

Screenings

  • OV Original version
  • OmU Original with German subtitles
  • OmeU Original with English subtitles
Filter
  • OV Original version
  • OmU Original with German subtitles
  • OmeU Original with English subtitles
Multiplexe anzeigen

Three Thousand Years of Longing

(Three Thousand Years of Longing) | USA/Australien 2022 | Drama, Fantasy | R: George Miller | Interview

Literary scholar Alithea (Tilda Swinton) researches myths in pop culture. At a conference in Istanbul, she buys an antique bottle and the jinn (Idris Elba) inside it grants her three wishes. But first, the jinn tells her about his life.

Screenings

b-ware! ladenkino

04.12. – Sun

TicketsReservation: https://www.kinoheld.de/Kino-Berlin/b-ware%21%20Ladenkino OmU11:00

07.12. – Wed

TicketsReservation: https://www.kinoheld.de/Kino-Berlin/b-ware%21%20Ladenkino OmU15:40

Tilsiter Lichtspiele

TODAY

TicketsReservation: Tel. 030/4268129 OmU22:45

03.12. – Sat

TicketsReservation: Tel. 030/4268129 OmU22:45

06.12. – Tue

TicketsReservation: Tel. 030/4268129 OmU22:45

ALLE ANGABEN OHNE GEWÄHR.
Die Inhalte dieser Webseite dürfen nicht gehandelt oder weitergegeben werden. Jede Vervielfältigung, Veröffentlichung oder andere Nutzung dieser Inhalte ist verboten, soweit die INDIEKINO BERLIN UG (haftungsbeschränkt) nicht ausdrücklich schriftlich ihr Einverständnis erklärt hat.

Entfernung über GPS
ab PLZ

Three Thousand Years Of Longing

Verhandlungen mit dem Erzähl-Geist

Die Literaturwissenschaftlerin Alithea (Tilda Swinton) forscht über Mythen in der Populärkultur. Auf einer Konferenz in Istanbul kauft sie ein antikes Fläschchen und der innewohnende Dschinn (Idris Elba) gewährt ihr drei Wünsche. Doch zunächst erzählt der Dschinn aus seinem Leben.

Mehr

Als Regisseur des besten Actionfilms aller Zeiten, MAD MAX: FURY ROAD, darf George Miller alles machen, was er will. Miller ist 77 und dreht einen Film über das Erzählen, obwohl die Welt Nägel beißend auf seinen nächsten Actionkracher FURIOSA wartet. Der ist aber erst für 2024 angekündigt. Erst einmal gibt es dieses Herzensprojekt, THREE THOUSAND YEARS OF LONGING.

Als George Miller jung war, las man Roland Barthes „Mythen des Alltags“ und Leslie Fiedlers Essay „Cross the Border – Close the Gap“, in dem der Erzähltheoretiker sich emphatisch für eine „Postmoderne“ einsetzte, die die Grenze zwischen „Hochkultur“ („high brow“) und Trivialkunst („low brow“) einriss. Die Nouvelle Vague hatte die ästhetischen Qualitäten der amerikanischen Gangsterfilme und der Hitchcock-Thriller entdeckt. Millers Filme waren Umsetzungen dieser Ideen, neo-mythische, auf die einfachsten Erzählstrukturen konzentrierte Geschichten wie die MAD MAX-Filme und Zaubermärchen wie THE WITCHES OF EASTWICK.

In THREE THOUSAND YEARS OF LONGING, nach einer Kurzgeschichte von A. S. Byatt., ist Tilda Swinton die Literaturwissenschaftlerin Alithea (lat. „aliter Thea“: die andere Göttin) mit dem Spezialgebiet der Narratologie, der Erforschung der Techniken des Erzählens. Auf einer Konferenz in Istanbul präsentiert sie diese Idee von Mythen, die sich in den Genres der Populärkultur erhalten. Im Hintergrund sind die Superhelden der Comicverlage Marvel und DC zu sehen, als Alithea eine Halluzination erfährt und sie ohnmächtig wird. In einem Istanbuler Basar kauft sie am nächsten Tag ein antikes Fläschchen, aus dem kurz darauf Idris Elba als Dschinn schlüpft, der Alithea drei Wünsche gewährt. Aber Alithea kennt sich mit Geschichten über Wünsche aus und bleibt vorsichtig. Zunächst will sie die Geschichte des Dschinns hören, der über Jahrtausende immer wieder in der Flasche eingesperrt war.

Der Dschinn ist eine Geschichtenmaschine, ein Literaturgeist, mit dem Alithea zuerst in der Sprache Homers spricht. Seine Geschichten über Verführung, Macht, Gewalt, Perversion, Liebe und Wissen handeln von der Macht der Erzählung selbst. Miller inszeniert diese Geschichten in sinnlich-buntem Kontrast zu dem generischen Hotelzimmer, in dem Elba und Swinton in weißen Bademänteln ihre Verhandlungen führen.

THREE THOUSAND YEARS OF LONGING ist ein beinahe akademischer Film, vielleicht sogar eine Art Apologie eines Künstlers, der sein Leben lang in „trivialen“ Genres gearbeitet hat: Action, Comedy, Melodrama. Der Film ist eine Liebeserklärung an das Geschichtenerzählen. Vielleicht sind die Geschichten symbolisch etwas zu überladen, schließlich müssen sie die wichtigsten Funktionen des Erzählens gleich mit demonstrieren, vielleicht hätte der Spannungsbogen doch ein wenig straffer gespannt werden können, aber das ist alles sehr schön und charmant anzusehen, Elba und Swinton sind wie immer liebenswert, die orientalistischen Geschichten sind hübsch altmodisch und bunt inszeniert. Was wird sich eine Literaturwissenschaftlerin von einem Geschichten-Geist wünschen? Genau, so ähnlich. Ist doch prima. Ein gutes Date-Movie.

Tom Dorow

Details

Originaltitel: Three Thousand Years of Longing
USA/Australien 2022, 108 min
Sprache: Englisch, Griechisch, Türkisch
Genre: Drama, Fantasy
Regie: George Miller
Drehbuch: George Miller
Kamera: John Seale
Schnitt: Margaret Sixel
Musik: Junkie XL
Verleih: Leonine
Darsteller: Tilda Swinton, Idris Elba, Alyla Browne, David Collins, Kaan Guldur
Kinostart: 01.09.2022

Interview
Website
IMDB

Vorführungen

Vorführungen

Filter
Multiplexe anzeigen

Three Thousand Years Of Longing

(Three Thousand Years of Longing) | USA/Australien 2022 | Drama, Fantasy | R: George Miller | Interview

Die Literaturwissenschaftlerin Alithea (Tilda Swinton) forscht über Mythen in der Populärkultur. Auf einer Konferenz in Istanbul kauft sie ein antikes Fläschchen und der innewohnende Dschinn (Idris Elba) gewährt ihr drei Wünsche. Doch zunächst erzählt der Dschinn aus seinem Leben.

Vorführungen

b-ware! ladenkino

HEUTE

OmU18:00

02.10. – So

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU18:00

03.10. – Mo

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU18:00

05.10. – Mi

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU18:00

Casablanca

02.10. – So

20:30

05.10. – Mi

OmU20:30

Delphi LUX

HEUTE

OmU20:00

02.10. – So

OmU20:00

03.10. – Mo

OmU20:00

Hackesche Höfe Kino

HEUTE

OmU16:45

OmU22:00

02.10. – So

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU12:45

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU16:45

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU22:00

03.10. – Mo

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU16:45

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU22:00

04.10. – Di

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU16:45

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU22:00

05.10. – Mi

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU16:45

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU22:00

Moviemento

HEUTE

OmU20:30

02.10. – So

OmU21:30

03.10. – Mo

OmU21:15

04.10. – Di

OmU21:30

05.10. – Mi

OmU22:00

Passage

HEUTE

OmU21:00

02.10. – So

OmU15:45

OmU21:00

03.10. – Mo

OmU21:00

04.10. – Di

OmU21:00

05.10. – Mi

OmU21:00

Rollberg

HEUTE

OV19:00

02.10. – So

OV19:00

03.10. – Mo

OV19:00

04.10. – Di

OV19:00

05.10. – Mi

OV19:00

Sputnik Kino am Südstern

HEUTE

16:45

02.10. – So

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU22:00

03.10. – Mo

TicketsTickets kaufen 18:00

Tilsiter Lichtspiele

HEUTE

OmU22:00

02.10. – So

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU22:00

03.10. – Mo

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU22:00

04.10. – Di

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU22:00

05.10. – Mi

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU22:00

Wolf Kino

03.10. – Mo

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU16:45

04.10. – Di

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU16:45

05.10. – Mi

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU16:45

ALLE ANGABEN OHNE GEWÄHR.
Die Inhalte dieser Webseite dürfen nicht gehandelt oder weitergegeben werden. Jede Vervielfältigung, Veröffentlichung oder andere Nutzung dieser Inhalte ist verboten, soweit die INDIEKINO BERLIN UG (haftungsbeschränkt) nicht ausdrücklich schriftlich ihr Einverständnis erklärt hat.