My location via GPS
Postcode

Cunningham

A large portion of the film about groundbreaking choreographer Merce Cunningham is a reinterpretation of Cunningham‘s choreographies whereby 3D technology makes the spatial depth of dance accessible.

More

The 1940s didn‘t just cement US political hegemony, but also a new cultural awareness that let American art step out of the long shadow of the European avant garde for the first time. Artists like Janet Sobel, who pre-empted the many innovations of the great Jackson Pollock, John Cage, and Merce Cunningham formulated ideas about art that prioritized coincidence, improvisation, and the process above human intention and finished works. Janet Sobel let colors run on canvases and involved materials in her design. John Cage implemented coincidence by letting his compositions be decided by a coin toss and abolished the difference between music and sound. In his legendary piece 4‘33“ for example, he didn‘t play a single sound for four minutes and 33 seconds and turned the stillness, the fine sounds of the atmosphere, the cracks and coughs coming from the audience into music. Dancer and choreographer Merce Cunningham similarly tried to expand the repertoire of dance movement and break up the border between high art and daily life that way.

Cunningham‘s influence on post-war art is still underestimated to this day, and so it is great that CUNNINGHAM by Alla Kovgan puts his collaborations with prominent artists like John Cage and Robert Rauschenberg into focus. CUNNINGHAM avoids the biographical derivation and present day classification. Instead, a large portion of the film is made up of new interpretations of Merce Cunningham‘s choreographies, whereby 3D technology makes the spatial depth of dance accessible. The film doesn‘t just imitate the experience of a real dance performance, it also stays true to the performative character of Cunningham‘s art that doesn‘t tell a story, but lets the audience associate with abstract movements instead. CUNNINGHAM doesn‘t show who the choreographer was, it shows what he did.

Yorick Berta

Translation: Elinor Lewy

Credits

Deutschland/Frankreich/USA 2019, 87 min
Genre: Documentary, Biography, Dance Film
Director: Alla Kovgan
Author: Alla Kovgan
Distributor: Camino
FSK: oA
Release: 19.12.2019

Website
IMDB

Screenings

Screenings

  • OV Original version
  • OmU Original with German subtitles
  • OmeU Original with English subtitles
Filter
  • OV Original version
  • OmU Original with German subtitles
  • OmeU Original with English subtitles
Multiplexe anzeigen

Cunningham

Deutschland/Frankreich/USA 2019 | Documentary, Biography, Dance Film | R: Alla Kovgan | FSK: oA

A large portion of the film about groundbreaking choreographer Merce Cunningham is a reinterpretation of Cunningham‘s choreographies whereby 3D technology makes the spatial depth of dance accessible.

Screenings

Acud Kino

28.02. – Fri

TicketsReservation: Tel. 030/44 35 94 98, https://acudkino.de/ 18:00

02.03. – Mon

TicketsReservation: Tel. 030/44 35 94 98, https://acudkino.de/ OmU18:00

ALLE ANGABEN OHNE GEWÄHR.
Die Inhalte dieser Webseite dürfen nicht gehandelt oder weitergegeben werden. Jede Vervielfältigung, Veröffentlichung oder andere Nutzung dieser Inhalte ist verboten, soweit die INDIEKINO BERLIN UG (haftungsbeschränkt) nicht ausdrücklich schriftlich ihr Einverständnis erklärt hat.

Entfernung über GPS
ab PLZ

Cunningham

Improvisation & Zufall

Ein großer Teil des Films über den bahnbrechenden Choreografen Merce Cunningham besteht aus Neuinterpretationen von Cunninghams Choreografien, die durch die 3D-Technologie in räumlicher Tiefe erfahrbar werden.

Mehr

Die 1940er Jahre zementierten nicht nur die politische Hegemonie der Vereinigten Staaten, sondern auch ein neues kulturelles Selbstbewusstsein, das die amerikanische Kunst erstmals aus dem langen Schatten der europäischen Avantgarden treten lässt. Künstler*innen wie Janet Sobel, die viele Innovationen des großen Jackson Pollock vorwegnahm, John Cage und Merce Cunningham formulierten Vorstellungen von Kunst, die an die Stelle von menschlicher Intention und abgeschlossenem Werk den Zufall, die Improvisation und den Prozess setzten. Janet Sobel ließ Farbe auf Leinwände tropfen und beteiligte die Materialien an ihrer Formgebung. John Cage implementierte den Zufall, indem er seine Kompositionen durch Münzwürfe bestimmen ließ, und hob den Unterschied zwischen Musik und Klang auf - bei seinem legendären Stück 4'33" beispielsweise ließ er für die Länge von vier Minuten und 33 Sekunden keinen einzigen Ton spielen und erhob so die Stille, die feinen Geräusche der Atmosphäre, das Knacken und Husten aus dem Zuschauerraum zu Musik. Ähnlich versuchte der Tänzer und Choreograf Merce Cunningham, das Repertoire an tänzerischen Bewegungen zu erweitern und damit die Grenze zwischen Hochkunst und Alltag aufzubrechen.
Cunninghams Einfluss auf die Kunst der Nachkriegszeit ist nach wie vor unterschätzt, und so ist es schön, dass der Film CUNNINGHAM von Alla Kovgan ihn und seine Zusammenarbeit mit prominenten Künstlern wie John Cage und Robert Rauschenberg nun in den Fokus rückt. CUNNINGHAM verzichtet auf biografische Herleitung und zeitgeschichtliche Einordnung. Stattdessen besteht ein großer Teil des Films aus Neuinterpretationen von Merce Cunninghams Choreografien, wobei die 3D-Technologie die räumliche Tiefe des Tanzes erfahrbar macht. So ahmt der Film nicht nur die Erfahrung einer echten Tanzaufführung nach, sondern bleibt auch dem performativen Charakter von Cunninghams Kunstform treu, die keine Geschichten erzählt, sondern den Zuschauern die Assoziation von abstrakten Bewegungen überlässt. CUNNINGHAM zeigt nicht, wer der Choreograf war, sondern was er tat.

Yorick Berta

Details

Deutschland/Frankreich/USA 2019, 87 min
Genre: Dokumentarfilm, Biografie, Tanzfilm
Regie: Alla Kovgan
Drehbuch: Alla Kovgan
Verleih: Camino
Kinostart: 19.12.2019

Website
IMDB

Vorführungen

Vorführungen

ALLE ANGABEN OHNE GEWÄHR.
Die Inhalte dieser Webseite dürfen nicht gehandelt oder weitergegeben werden. Jede Vervielfältigung, Veröffentlichung oder andere Nutzung dieser Inhalte ist verboten, soweit die INDIEKINO BERLIN UG (haftungsbeschränkt) nicht ausdrücklich schriftlich ihr Einverständnis erklärt hat.