My location via GPS
Postcode

Knives Out

A homage to good old-fashioned whodunnits including a famous victim, a dysfunctional family, and a flamboyant master detective (Daniel Craig) with the nice name of Benoit Blanc.

More

Harlan Thrombey is dead. The world-famous mystery writer cut his own throat in his attic on his 85th birthday. This suitably complicated way of going out shocks the entire family, but when the suspicion arises that it could‘ve been murder, all of the potential inheritors of Harlan‘s considerable wealth can point to a person with a motive. This is why master detective Benoit Blanc (Daniel Craig as a southern Columbo) is there to shed light on the countless family bonds and conflicts and find the guilty party if it was, indeed, a murder. Harlan is supported by South American caregiver Marta (Ana de Armas) who knows almost all of the family secrets and can‘t hide anything from Blanc because of her allergic reaction of lying.

After Rian Johnson‘s first film BRICK, which transplants a hardboiled detective story onto a modern high school, KNIVES OUT is a whodunit that balances the fine between a crime thriller and a satire. KNIVES OUT is full of excess: the an all-star ensemble (with the likes of Jamie Lee Curtis, Don Johnson, and Toni Collette) which shows a rich, white family in the 21st century in all their facettes, the house that is decorated to the brim, and the plot that first amusingly contrasts the statements and memories with the truth and then takes a turn in an entirely different, confusing direction. Some of the traces and clues are dead-ends, but the film has has such a big arsenal up its sleeve that the question of who killed Harlan Thrombey soon becomes the least important one.

Christian Klose

Translation: Elinor Lewy

Credits

Original title: Knives Out
USA 2019, 130 min
Language: English
Genre: Crime Drama, Sociological Film, Black Comedy
Director: Rian Johnson
Author: Rian Johnson
DOP: Steve Yedlin
Music: Nathan Johnson
Distributor: Universum
Cast: Daniel Craig, Lakeith Stanfield, Chris Evans, Ana de Armas, Michael Shannon, Jamie Lee Curtis, Toni Collette, Katherine Langford, Christopher Plummer, Don Johnson, Jaeden Lieberher
FSK: 12
Release: 02.01.2020

Website
IMDB

Screenings

Screenings

  • OV Original version
  • OmU Original with German subtitles
  • OmeU Original with English subtitles
Filter
  • OV Original version
  • OmU Original with German subtitles
  • OmeU Original with English subtitles
Multiplexe anzeigen

Knives Out

(Knives Out) | USA 2019 | Crime Drama, Sociological Film, Black Comedy | R: Rian Johnson | FSK: 12

A homage to good old-fashioned whodunnits including a famous victim, a dysfunctional family, and a flamboyant master detective (Daniel Craig) with the nice name of Benoit Blanc.

Screenings

b-ware! ladenkino

TODAY

TicketsBuy Tickets 22:20

Kant Kino

TODAY

20:30

05.08. – Wed

20:30

ALLE ANGABEN OHNE GEWÄHR.
Die Inhalte dieser Webseite dürfen nicht gehandelt oder weitergegeben werden. Jede Vervielfältigung, Veröffentlichung oder andere Nutzung dieser Inhalte ist verboten, soweit die INDIEKINO BERLIN UG (haftungsbeschränkt) nicht ausdrücklich schriftlich ihr Einverständnis erklärt hat.

Entfernung über GPS
ab PLZ

Knives Out – Mord ist Familiensache

Whodunnit

Hommage an den guten alten Whodunnit inklusive prominentem Opfer, dysfunktionaler Familie und einem flamboyanten Meisterdetektiv (Daniel Craig) mit dem schönen Namen Benoit Blanc

Mehr

Harlan Thrombey ist tot. Am Abend seines 85. Geburtstags hat der weltberühmte Krimiautor sich in seinem Dachzimmer, das niemand unbemerkt betreten kann, selbst die Kehle aufgeschnitten. Dieses für den Toten angemessen komplizierte Ableben schockiert die versammelte Familie, aber als der Verdacht aufkommt, es könnte Mord gewesen sein, können alle möglichen Erb*innen von Harlans beachtlichem Vermögen sofort auf eine Person mit Motiv zeigen. Daher wurde Meisterdetektiv Benoit Blanc (Daniel Craig als Südstaaten-Columbo) engagiert, um Licht in die unzähligen familiären Verbindungen und Konflikte zu bringen, und, so es denn Mord war, die Schuldigen zu finden. Unterstützt wird er von Harlans südamerikanischer Pflegerin Marta (Ana de Armas), vor der die Familie kaum Geheimnisse hat, und die auf Grund einer allergischen Reaktion auf Lügen vor Blanc nichts verbergen kann.
Nachdem Rian Johnsons erster Film BRICK den Hardboiled-Krimi ins moderne High-School-Milieu transplantierte, inszeniert er hier einen Whodunnit, der immer haarscharf auf der Schneide zwischen Krimi und Satire balanciert. KNIVES OUT übt sich in Exzess: von einem All-Star-Ensemble (unter anderem Jamie Lee Curtis, Don Johnson und Toni Collette), das eine reiche weiße Familie des 21. Jahrhunderts in allen ihren Facetten darstellt, über ein Haus, das bis in jede verwinkelte Ecke durchdekoriert ist –„Er lebte auf einem Cluedo-Spielbrett“, wie es eine Figur sagt – bis hin zu einem Plot, der zuerst sehr amüsant Erinnerungen und Aussagen mit der Wahrheit kontrastiert, und dann plötzlich in eine ganz andere, verworrenere Richtung abbiegt. Einige der Spuren und Hinweise laufen dabei natürlich ins Leere, aber der Film hat bis zum letzten „Sir, ein Frage noch...“ ein so großes Arsenal im Ärmel, dass die Frage, wer Harlan Thrombey getötet hat, bald die Unwichtigste ist.

Christian Klose

Details

Originaltitel: Knives Out
USA 2019, 130 min
Sprache: Englisch
Genre: Krimi, Gesellschaftsfilm, Schwarze Komödie
Regie: Rian Johnson
Drehbuch: Rian Johnson
Kamera: Steve Yedlin
Musik: Nathan Johnson
Verleih: Universum
Darsteller: Daniel Craig, Lakeith Stanfield, Chris Evans, Ana de Armas, Michael Shannon, Jamie Lee Curtis, Toni Collette, Katherine Langford, Christopher Plummer, Don Johnson, Jaeden Lieberher
FSK: 12
Kinostart: 02.01.2020

Website
IMDB

Vorführungen

Vorführungen

Filter
Multiplexe anzeigen

Knives Out - Mord ist Familiensache

(Knives Out) | USA 2019 | Krimi, Gesellschaftsfilm, Schwarze Komödie | R: Rian Johnson | FSK: 12

Hommage an den guten alten Whodunnit inklusive prominentem Opfer, dysfunktionaler Familie und einem flamboyanten Meisterdetektiv (Daniel Craig) mit dem schönen Namen Benoit Blanc

Vorführungen

b-ware! ladenkino

HEUTE

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU20:00

24.02. – Mo

TicketsTickets kaufen 20:00

25.02. – Di

TicketsTickets kaufen OmU20:00

Casablanca

26.02. – Mi

18:00

Delphi LUX

HEUTE

OmU21:30

HEUTE

OV22:00

24.02. – Mo

OmU20:40

24.02. – Mo

OV22:00

25.02. – Di

OmU20:40

25.02. – Di

OV22:00

26.02. – Mi

OmU20:40

26.02. – Mi

OV22:00

Kant Kino

HEUTE

19:30

24.02. – Mo

19:30

26.02. – Mi

19:30

ALLE ANGABEN OHNE GEWÄHR.
Die Inhalte dieser Webseite dürfen nicht gehandelt oder weitergegeben werden. Jede Vervielfältigung, Veröffentlichung oder andere Nutzung dieser Inhalte ist verboten, soweit die INDIEKINO BERLIN UG (haftungsbeschränkt) nicht ausdrücklich schriftlich ihr Einverständnis erklärt hat.