My location via GPS
Postcode

Jojo Rabbit

Ten-year-old Jojo discovers that his mother is hiding a Jewish girl. Not even his imaginary friend Hitler knows what to do. Taika Waititi‘s garish comedy offers jokes in volleys, but it also contains an emotionally moving story.

More

1944: 10-year-old Johannes Betzler is getting ready for the “Jungvolk“ entrance exam. While taking it something goes wrong and he gets the name “Jojo Rabbit“ and is forced to stay home because of an injury. It‘s nice with his mother (Scarlett Johansson), but since she‘s been alone he needs to take care of her just as much as she needs to take care of him. And she‘s out of the house a lot. Jojo has an imaginary friend who advises him on all of his questions and problems: the very childish Hitler (director Taika Waititi). Hitler barely has time to help Jojo before the child discovers a Jewish girl, Elsa, hiding in his house. Jojo hates all Jews, of course, good Nazi that he is, but something about Elsa fascinates him, and besides she will be able to tell him all of the Jew secrets if he doesn‘t snitch on her.

JOJO RABBIT couldn‘t be a European film. In Dani Levy‘s MEIN FÜHRER (2007) the Nazi elite were also silly comic characters. However, the Shoah was so present that every laugh was short-lived. JOJO RABBIT avoids this conflict by showing everything from a childish perspective. The threat that Elsa is subjected to is only shortly mentioned and the Nazis are ridiculous figures reminiscent of their comrades in the films of Mel Brooks and Ernst Lubitsch. The one real emotional hit the film delivers is smartly constructed and speaks to a childish primal fear, regardless of the historical context. The film presents itself as clearly fictional by the unusual, but historically documented, colorful clothes worn and the way two anachronistic rock songs framing the film's plot, which mirror Jojo‘s feelings from the beginning to the end of his development. If you can accept the alienating feelings that arise, you will find an emotionally honest and moving story.

Christian Klose

Translation: Elinor Lewy

Credits

USA 2019, 108 min
Language: English
Genre: Youth Film, Comedy, Slapstick
Director: Taika Waititi
Author: Taika Waititi
DOP: Mihai Malaimare Jr.
Montage: Tom Eagles
Music: Michael Giacchino
Distributor: FOX
Cast: Roman Griffin Davis, Scarlett Johansson, Taika Waititi, Sam Rockwell, Thomasin McKenzie, Rebel Wilson, Stephen Merchant
FSK: 12
Release: 23.01.2020

Website
IMDB

Screenings

Screenings

  • OV Original version
  • OmU Original with German subtitles
  • OmeU Original with English subtitles
Filter
  • OV Original version
  • OmU Original with German subtitles
  • OmeU Original with English subtitles
Multiplexe anzeigen

Jojo Rabbit

USA 2019 | Youth Film, Comedy, Slapstick | R: Taika Waititi | FSK: 12

Ten-year-old Jojo discovers that his mother is hiding a Jewish girl. Not even his imaginary friend Hitler knows what to do. Taika Waititi‘s garish comedy offers jokes in volleys, but it also contains an emotionally moving story.

Screenings

b-ware! ladenkino

27.02. – Thu

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU20:45

28.02. – Fri

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU20:45

29.02. – Sat

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU20:45

01.03. – Sun

TicketsBuy Tickets 12:30

01.03. – Sun

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU20:45

02.03. – Mon

TicketsBuy Tickets 20:45

03.03. – Tue

TicketsBuy Tickets 11:00

03.03. – Tue

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU20:45

04.03. – Wed

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU20:45

Babylon Kreuzberg

TODAY

OmU18:00

Delphi LUX

TODAY

OmU16:00

OmU21:00

TODAY

OV18:30

Hackesche Höfe Kino

TODAY

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU19:30

27.02. – Thu

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU19:45

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU22:00

28.02. – Fri

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU19:45

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU22:00

29.02. – Sat

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU19:45

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU22:00

01.03. – Sun

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU19:45

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU22:00

02.03. – Mon

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU19:45

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU22:00

03.03. – Tue

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU19:45

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU22:00

04.03. – Wed

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU19:45

TicketsBuy Tickets OmU22:00

Moviemento

TODAY

OmU11:30

OmU19:15

OmU21:45

Rollberg

TODAY

OV16:30

OV21:20

ALLE ANGABEN OHNE GEWÄHR.
Die Inhalte dieser Webseite dürfen nicht gehandelt oder weitergegeben werden. Jede Vervielfältigung, Veröffentlichung oder andere Nutzung dieser Inhalte ist verboten, soweit die INDIEKINO BERLIN UG (haftungsbeschränkt) nicht ausdrücklich schriftlich ihr Einverständnis erklärt hat.

Entfernung über GPS
ab PLZ

Jojo Rabbit

Witze salvenweise

Der Jungvolkanwärter Jojo entdeckt, dass seine Mutter ein jüdisches Mädchen versteckt. Nicht einmal sein imaginärer Freund Hitler weiß, was nun zu tun ist. Taika Waititis grelle Komödie bringt Witze salvenweise an, enthält aber auch eine emotional bewegende Geschichte.

Mehr

1944: Der zehnjährige Johannes Betzler bereitet sich auf die Aufnahmeprüfung für das Jungvolk vor. Dabei geht allerdings etwas schief, er hat den Namen „Jojo Hasenfuss“ weg und muss verletzt zuhause bleiben. Bei seiner Mutter (Scarlett Johansson) ist es schön, aber seit sie allein sind, muss er sich genauso um sie kümmern, wie sie um ihn. Und sie ist auch viel außer Haus. Für alle Fragen und Probleme hat Jojo einen imaginären Freund: den sehr kindischen Hitler (Regisseur Taika Waititi). Der kann Jojo aber kaum helfen, als der das jüdische Mädchen Elsa entdeckt, die sich im Haus versteckt. Als guter Nazi hasst Jojo alle Juden natürlich, doch etwas an Elsa fasziniert ihn, und außerdem kann sie ihm alle Juden-Geheimnisse erzählen, wenn er sie nicht verpetzt. Mit denen macht man ihn bestimmt zum Pimpf.
JOJO RABBIT könnte kein europäischer Film sein. In Dani Levys MEIN FÜHRER (2007) war die Nazi-Elite zwar auch schon zu albernen Witzfiguren geworden. Die Shoah war hier aber so präsent, dass jedes Lachen schnell verstummte. JOJO umgeht diesen Konflikt, indem er alles aus einer rein kindlichen Perspektive zeigt. Die Bedrohung, der Elsa ausgesetzt ist, wird nur sehr kurz erwähnt, und die Nazis sind Klamauktruppen, die an ihre Kameraden bei Mel Brooks und Ernst Lubitsch erinnern. Der eine echte emotionale Tiefschlag, den der Film austeilt, ist schlau konstruiert, und spricht, unabhängig vom historischen Kontext, eine kindliche Urangst an. Vor allem weist sich der Films sich als klar künstlich aus, indem ungewohnt, wenn auch historisch verbriefte, farbenfrohe Kleidung getragen wird, und andererseits die Handlung von zwei anachronistischen Rocksongs eingerahmt wird, die Jojos Gefühle zu Anfang und Ende seiner Entwicklung spiegeln. Wenn man diese Verfremdung akzeptiert, und Witze salvenweise verträgt, findet sich darin eine emotional ehrlich bewegende Geschichte.

Christian Klose

Details

USA 2019, 108 min
Sprache: Englisch
Genre: Jugendfilm, Komödie, Slapstick
Regie: Taika Waititi
Drehbuch: Taika Waititi
Kamera: Mihai Malaimare Jr.
Schnitt: Tom Eagles
Musik: Michael Giacchino
Verleih: FOX
Darsteller: Roman Griffin Davis, Scarlett Johansson, Taika Waititi, Sam Rockwell, Thomasin McKenzie, Rebel Wilson, Stephen Merchant
FSK: 12
Kinostart: 23.01.2020

Website
IMDB

ALLE ANGABEN OHNE GEWÄHR.
Die Inhalte dieser Webseite dürfen nicht gehandelt oder weitergegeben werden. Jede Vervielfältigung, Veröffentlichung oder andere Nutzung dieser Inhalte ist verboten, soweit die INDIEKINO BERLIN UG (haftungsbeschränkt) nicht ausdrücklich schriftlich ihr Einverständnis erklärt hat.