My location via GPS
Postcode

Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck

Brett Morgan's documentary picture - the only film the Cobain's family authorized - paints an intimate portrait of the Nirvana singer who killed himself at the height of his success.

More

I feel stupid and contagious, here we are now, entertain us. Anyone who grew up in the 90s knows the catchy refrains and chords of Nirvana songs. The grunge band, centered around the now icon of pop culture Kurt Cobain, released their debut album Bleach in 1989 and soon witnesses a meteoric rise that ended with Cobain’s suicide in 1994. Following Gus Van Sant (LAST DAYS) and Nick Broomfield (KURT & COURTNEY) director Brett Morgen comes closer to the myth surrounding Kurt Cobain. The film’s title, COBAIN: MONTAGE OF HECK, is taken from a mix tape made by the protagonist, and is quite fitting. There is no overkill of interviews or an omnipresent off-stage commentary, this Sundance entry creates a diverse muscial portrait from the Cobain archive.
MONTAGE OF HECK is the first documentary about Kurt Cobain officially authorized by his family. Cobain’s daughter Frances Bean was even involved in the film’s production and she allows Brett Morgen access to a number of unpublished documents that reveal much about Cobain’s inner emotional life. Alongside demo recordings, drawings and sculptures, Courtney Love’s home videos and 8mm home videos from his childhood generate a new level of intimacy. Also well done are the animated passages that are taken from Cobain’s diary entries. In the course of the chronologically edited documentary Morgan provides a nuanced treatment of Cobain’s inner conflict. Outwardly worshipped and highly successful, the musician suffered from an inferiority complex that culminated in his drug addiction. At the center of the multifaceted documentary is Kurt Cobain and not the history of his band.

Christian Horn

Translation: Carla MacDougall

Credits

Original title: Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck
USA 2015, 132 min
Genre: Documentary
Director: Brett Morgen
Author: Brett Morgen
DOP: Jim Whitaker, Nicole Hirsch Whitaker
Montage: Joe Beshenkovsky, Brett Morgen
Music: Jeff Danna
Distributor: Universal Pictures / Arts Alliance
Release: 09.04.2015

IMDB

Screenings

Screenings

  • OV Original version
  • OmU Original with German subtitles
  • OmeU Original with English subtitles

ALLE ANGABEN OHNE GEWÄHR.
Die Inhalte dieser Webseite dürfen nicht gehandelt oder weitergegeben werden. Jede Vervielfältigung, Veröffentlichung oder andere Nutzung dieser Inhalte ist verboten, soweit die INDIEKINO BERLIN UG (haftungsbeschränkt) nicht ausdrücklich schriftlich ihr Einverständnis erklärt hat.

Entfernung über GPS
ab PLZ

Cobain: Montage of Heck

Homevideos, Mixtapes, Tagebücher

Das von Kurt Cobains Familie authorisierte Portrait des Nirvana-Frontmanns zeigt Cobains innere Zerrissenheit anhand von unveröffentlichten Aufnahmen, Homevideos, Super-8 Filmen und privaten Dokumenten.

Mehr

I feel stupid and contagious, here we are now, entertain us. Die griffigen Refrains und Akkorde von „Nirvana“-Songs kennt wohl jeder, der in den 90er Jahren aufgewachsen ist. Die Grunge-Band um den längst zu einer Ikone der Popkultur avancierten Kurt Cobain erlebte seit dem 1989er Debütalbum „Bleach“ einen kometenhaften Aufstieg, der mit Cobains Selbstmord im Jahr 1994 ein jähes Ende fand. Nach Gus Van Sant (LAST DAYS) und Nick Broomfield (KURT & COURTNEY) nähert sich nun Regisseur Brett Morgen dem Mythos Kurt Cobain. Den Titel entlehnt COBAIN: MONTAGE OF HECK einem Mixtape des Protagonisten, was überaus passend ist. Ohne ein Übermaß an Interviewpassagen oder einen omnipräsenten Off-Kommentar arrangiert die in Sundance uraufgeführte Doku verschiedenste Materialien aus dem Cobain-Archiv zu einem musikalischen Porträt.
MONTAGE OF HECK ist der erste Dokumentarfilm über Kurt Cobain, der offiziell von den Nachkommen autorisiert wurde. Cobains Tochter Frances Bean ist sogar als Produzentin involviert und gewährte Brett Morgen den Zugang zu bislang meist unveröffentlichten Dokumenten, die viel über das Innenleben Cobains aussagen. Neben Demoaufnahmen, Gemälden und Skulpturen erzeugen vor allem Homevideos mit Courtney Love oder 8mm-Aufnahmen aus der Kindheit eine große Intimität. Ebenfalls sehr gelungen sind animierte Passagen, die sich auf Tagebucheinträge des Musikers beziehen. Im Verlauf der chronologisch aufbereiteten Doku arbeitet Morgen die innere Zerrissenheit Kurt Cobains immer nuancierter heraus. Äußerlich verehrt und höchst erfolgreich, litt der Musiker unter Minderwertigkeitsgefühlen, die in seiner Drogensucht kulminierten. Im Zentrum der facettenreichen Doku steht übrigens jederzeit Kurt Cobain und nicht die Geschichte seiner Band.

Christian Horn

Details

Originaltitel: Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck
USA 2015, 132 min
Genre: Dokumentarfilm
Regie: Brett Morgen
Drehbuch: Brett Morgen
Kamera: Jim Whitaker, Nicole Hirsch Whitaker
Schnitt: Joe Beshenkovsky, Brett Morgen
Musik: Jeff Danna
Verleih: Universal Pictures / Arts Alliance
Kinostart: 09.04.2015

IMDB

Vorführungen

Vorführungen

ALLE ANGABEN OHNE GEWÄHR.
Die Inhalte dieser Webseite dürfen nicht gehandelt oder weitergegeben werden. Jede Vervielfältigung, Veröffentlichung oder andere Nutzung dieser Inhalte ist verboten, soweit die INDIEKINO BERLIN UG (haftungsbeschränkt) nicht ausdrücklich schriftlich ihr Einverständnis erklärt hat.